Summer is flying by as it seems to do every year. This summer I have been keeping busy working in the enrollment center at Madison Area Technical College, as well my marketing internship with the Wisconsin Technical College System, and teaching tennis for the Madison School Community and Recreation. Having these jobs has allowed me to network and meet some wonderful people. By working with WTCS and in the enrollment center I have been able to advocate the importance of a technical education. I believe strongly in the Wisconsin Technical College System because it has gotten me to where I am today, and where I am headed in the future. Higher education in Wisconsin provides possibility and a chance for past and present generations to secure a future. The focus of my internship and jobs centers on students. Whether working as an orientation leader, assisting in the library or interning for a private student housing company, I have enjoyed the chance to make a difference in students’ lives.

President Obama spoke at James C. Wright Middle School in Madison, Wisconsin back in 2009 and said “over the course of a lifetime, those with a college degree earn over 60 percent more than those with only a high school diploma — 60 percent more… Four out of every 10 new jobs will require at least some advanced education or training within the next decade…There was a time when if you just got a high school education and you were willing to work hard, you could get a job in a trade or in the factory that paid a middle-class wage.  And those days are declining.  The currency of today’s economy is knowledge.”

Wisconsin was considered a Midwestern leader in the education movement following the Civil War in the United States. The “Wisconsin Idea,” emphasized service to the people of the state. It demonstrates the progressive movement within colleges and universities. Public education in Wisconsin includes both the 26-campus University of Wisconsin System, and the 16-campus Wisconsin Technical College System. A vast majority of Wisconsin Technical college graduates stay to live and work in Wisconsin and contribute to the state’s economy. Eighty-seven percent of the employed graduates who responded to the graduate survey are working in Wisconsin and 63% are employed in the technical college district where they received their training.

It’s hard to believe that this is my last summer in Madison, WI. There is so much I still need to experience such as attending the farmers market, visiting Henry Vilas Zoo and making it up to Picnic Point. I also plan on going to The National Mustard Museum where they have more than 5,300 mustards from more than 60 countries. It is unusual places such as this museum that keeps Wisconsin attractive. Another place I am eager to go to this summer is Noah’s Ark Waterpark. Noah’s Ark claims to be America’s largest water park, with 49 water slides. It is located in Wisconsin Dells-nicknamed the Water Park Capital of the World-with 18 indoor water parks. The Milwaukee Art Museum is another place worth visiting. This summer’s main attraction at the Milwaukee Art Museum is Chinese art and culture. Last spring I attended an exhibition called Street Seen which provided an in-depth look at six photographers during the 1940s and 1950s whose photography centered on the excitement and unease that characterized the era, as popular culture, the arts, and everyday life went through changes during World War II. I enjoyed learning about history through art.

It doesn’t take a trip out of Wisconsin to experience something new. It really is a state that has a lot to offer. Wisconsin has been a great state of employment, education, and enjoyment for me. There really is no place like home, and no matter where I am, Wisconsin will always be mine.

Comments
  1. Sounds like you really enjoyed your time in Wisconsin. I was there a few years back when I was single and didn’t do nearly as much as I would have liked to. Now that I have a family, I really hope to one day get back there and take them all with me. The National Mustard Museum sounds like it would be quiet interesting and definitely memorable. Did you ever make it there before you left?

Leave a Reply

